Angebote zu "Sandra" (4 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

A Bound Woman is a Dangerous Thing: The Incarce...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine's Citizen, DaMaris Hill's searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of colour burdened by incarceration. 'It is costly to stay free and appear / sane.'From Harriet Tubman to Assata Shakur, Ida B. Wells to Sandra Bland and Black Lives Matter, black women freedom fighters have braved violence, scorn, despair and isolation in order to lodge their protests. In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, DaMaris Hill honours their experiences with at times harrowing, at times hopeful responses to her heroes.For black American women, the experience of being bound has taken many forms: from the bondage of slavery to the Reconstruction-era criminalisation of women; from the brutal constraints of Jim Crow to our own era's prison industrial complex, where between 1980 and 2014, the number of incarcerated women increased by 700 percent.For those women who lived and died resisting the dehumanisation of confinement - physical, social, intellectual - the threat of being bound was real, constant and lethal.   In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, Hill presents bitter, unflinching history that artfully captures the personas of these captivating, bound yet unbridled African American women. Hill's passionate odes to Zora Neale Hurston, Lucille Clifton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Grace Jones, Eartha Kitt and others also celebrate the modern-day inheritors of their load and light, binding history, author and listener in an essential legacy of struggle. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Mia Ellis. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/051995/bk_adbl_051995_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 03.08.2020
Zum Angebot
A Complete Guide to Substitute Teaching: How to...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Before having my first born, I worked at a daycare for five years, I have an associate degree in psychology. After my son was born, I decided to stay home for a few years; I decided it was time for me to get back to work. But instead of going back to daycare job, I decided to become a substitute teacher and teach whenever I wanted. I didn't want a full-time job and a full-time commitment at first. I just wanted to see how it would feel to get back into the workforce without having to commit myself full time to anything. After some research, my heart was set on becoming a substitute teacher. That was nine long years ago. Looking back now I think that was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I love my freedom; I love the fact that I can work when I want to and don't have a load of responsibilities. But most of all I enjoy being around children. It makes me happy. In the last three years, I came across many people, most of whom always asked the same question. Every one of them wanted to know how to be a teacher like me. Through our local church, I started to hold a few seminars teaching people all about substitute teaching jobs. Recently my husband is the one who suggested that I should write a book about it, and this way I can help many more than just a handful I meet via those seminars. So this book is the direct result of that wonderful advice my loving husband gave me, and I think if this book can help just one person become a teacher, then I will consider my book is a success. That was my life story in a nutshell, but I know you are not interested in my life story but your own. In this book you will learn: What qualification you will need Advantages of being a sub teacher Disadvantages of being a sub teacher Three questions to consider about becoming a sub 1. Language: English. Narrator: Sandra Parker. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/073549/bk_acx0_073549_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 03.08.2020
Zum Angebot
A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing
19,99 € *
zzgl. 3,00 € Versand

A Publishers Weekly Top 10 History Title for the season Booklist's Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction titles for the year BookRiot's '50 Must-Read Poetry Collections' Most Anticipated Books of the Year-- The Rumpus, Nylon A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine's Citizen, DaMaris Hill's searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration. 'It is costly to stay free and appear / sane.' From Harriet Tubman to Assata Shakur, Ida B. Wells to Sandra Bland and Black Lives Matter, black women freedom fighters have braved violence, scorn, despair, and isolation in order to lodge their protests. In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, DaMaris Hill honors their experiences with at times harrowing, at times hopeful responses to her heroes, illustrated with black-and-white photographs throughout. For black American women, the experience of being bound has taken many forms: from the bondage of slavery to the Reconstruction-era criminalization of women; from the brutal constraints of Jim Crow to our own era's prison industrial complex, where between 1980 and 2014, the number of incarcerated women increased by 700%.* For those women who lived and died resisting the dehumanization of confinement--physical, social, intellectual--the threat of being bound was real, constant, and lethal. In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, Hill presents bitter, unflinching history that artfully captures the personas of these captivating, bound yet unbridled African-American women. Hill's passionate odes to Zora Neale Hurston, Lucille Clifton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Grace Jones, Eartha Kitt, and others also celebrate the modern-day inheritors of their load and light, binding history, author, and reader in an essential legacy of struggle. *The Sentencing Project

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 03.08.2020
Zum Angebot